A Visit to the Lake: Our 1 Year Anniversary

Ahhh! It’s been forever since I’ve written. Part of that is due to the general busy-ness of preparing to move to Colorado, but the main reason is that we currently do not have a working computer that hooks up to the internet. Sam and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary on the 12th of this month. I wanted to share a few highlights from the trip because it was truly a wonderful weekend. There are lots of pictures so be prepared!

Some places have a special magic to them. For our one year anniversary Sam and I headed up to an old haunt of my family’s–a little white cabin nestled in the sandhills half way between Thedford and Valentine, NE. We packed up all we could fit in his dad’s pickup truck and drove several hours on Hwy 83 across the Nebraska countryside.

IMG_1319

We took a pic before heading out.


IMG_1321

We had the windows down due to the lack of an A/C in the truck.


IMG_1325

It rained on the way up, the canoe in the back was filled with water.

The cabin rests beside a pair of twin lakes, Beaver and Muskrat “Rat” Lake. You need to travel up and around a little winding dirt road and past two cattle gates to get up there. The cabin is in need of a good coat of paint. The two cabins to the south of ours are in better shape, but the white one holds all of our memories inside.

IMG_6194

The view from across the Lake.

IMG_1354

IMG_6172

I remember many summer visits up to Rat Lake as a child. My siblings and I would sleep upstairs in the hot “loft” room with the wasps and the many spiders that made their homes up underneath the iron bed frames.

IMG_1357

Sam said this room looked like an orphanage. ๐Ÿ™‚

Sam and I slept downstairs in the main room on the futon mattress.

IMG_1359

IMG_6125

It’s pretty rustic up there. Probably the most interesting features are the water pump at the sink, and the outhouse.

IMG_1360

you can see the pump near the sink.

Ahhh… the outhouse. I dubbed her “Old Faithful” a few years back. Yes, she is the most frightening part of the lake.

IMG_6170

I never know what I’ll find in there…

I keep forgetting how bad it really is until I go up there again. Talk about the favorite hangout for all the spiders and flies on the block. I find it rather amusing and disturbing that there is a little broom in one corner whose main purpose is to sweep out the cobwebs inside the toilet hole. I always try to make my visits as fast and few as possible.

Anyway…

(Just as a side note, Old Faithful does add to the secluded, peaceful feel though. Things wouldn’t be the same if she wasn’t there.)

The countryside surrounding us up there is gorgeous–especially with all the rain we’ve been getting this year.

IMG_1369

IMG_6126

Our little canoe we borrowed from my grandpa.

IMG_6168

IMG_6185

The first day we were up there, Sam and I explored a sandbar together. I didn’t want to swim, but of course my hubby had to pull me into the water.

IMG_1334

IMG_1337

IMG_1339

IMG_1336

IMG_1346

There were lots of snails clustered in the water.


IMG_1344

I almost stepped on this little guy. Surprised me!

Because of the heat, we enjoyed playing cards and drawing inside the cabin. There’s a special deck my family always plays with with cartoons from the 50s on them.

IMG_6141

I beat Sam every time we played. ๐Ÿ™‚ To his credit though, he did do a lot better than me when we went outside to practice shooting his little bb gun.

IMG_6154

IMG_6150

IMG_6148

IMG_6144

The sunsets over Rat Lake are glorious. I caught some neat shots before being totally devoured by mosquitoes.

IMG_6161

IMG_6164

IMG_6174

On our last day up there we rowed across the lake to the hills beyond. We rested under some cedars and took some nature pics. (It was too windy to draw unfortunately.)

IMG_6216

IMG_6204

IMG_6190

IMG_6187

IMG_6192

IMG_6212

IMG_6191

There is something about the place that leaves me feeling restored and peaceful inside. It’s wild, it’s primitive and rustic in many ways, but it’s special. It’s secluded. It’s a haven untouched by many hands and eyes. Sam told me that he wants to make a visit up to Rat Lake and annual tradition. I was so happy to get the chance to share one of my favorite childhood memories with him.

IMG_1368

IMG_6133

IMG_6183

5 thoughts on “A Visit to the Lake: Our 1 Year Anniversary

  1. Thank you very much for all the beautiful pictures. I too have many, many childhood memories of that little cabin on the prairie. It was lovely seeing all the pictures and everything looked very much the same. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!!

    • I was surprised with how much it stays the same even from not visiting for a few years! I think that’s part of the magic of the place–that you can go back and know that though some little things may be gone, Rat Lake keeps its quiet charm and peaceful feel.

  2. I love this because Rick and I had a getaway in that same area that looks very similar! It is somewhat more modern I think than what you had though! ๐Ÿ˜‰ However, it was simple and sweet and we loved to spend time there! Special memories with the most special person stay with us throughout our lives. Keep loving each other and adding to a lifetime of memories as you journey forward in the years to come! His blessings are out of this world!

  3. Pingback: Sam and Rachael’s Year in Review: 2015 | *Breadcrumbs*

Leave a Reply

